

Bright and Carpenter Consulting, Inc.

825 S. Kansas Avenue, Suite 502C Topeka, KS 66612, www.brightcarpenter.com

December 3, 2024

Kansas Legislative Leadership Elections

The Kansas Legislature convened in Topeka yesterday to elect their new Senate and House leaders for the 2025-2026 biennium legislative session.

The largest shake-ups are in the Senate Republican and House Democrat caucuses. A new Senate Vice President, Majority Leader, and Assistant Majority Leader could drastically change dynamics in that chamber. Meanwhile, the top three Democrat leaders in the House will also be new next year.

Yesterday's elections set the stage for committee chair appointments and committee assignments to be announced in the coming weeks. Session begins on Monday, January 13 and is expected to stay within the 90-day statutory limit.

Here is the new slate of Senate and House leadership:

Senate Republicans

- President: Incumbent Ty Masterson (Andover) unopposed.
- Vice President: **Tim Shallenburger (Baxter Springs)** beat Renee Erickson (Wichita). Open position after incumbent Rick Wilborn (McPherson) was elected to the House this fall.
- Majority Leader: Chase Blasi (Wichita) beat incumbent Larry Alley (Winfield).
- Assistant Majority Leader: **Caryn Tyson (Parker)** beat Beverly Gossage (Eudora). Open position after incumbent Renee Erickson decided to run for Vice President.
- Majority Whip: Incumbent Rick Kloos (Berryton) unopposed.

Senate Democrats

- Minority Leader: Incumbent **Dinah Sykes (Lenexa)** unopposed.
- Assistant Minority Leader: Incumbent Oletha Faust-Goudeau (Wichita) beat Marci Francisco (Lawrence).

- Minority Whip: **Cindy Holscher (Overland Park)** unopposed. Incumbent Pat Pettey (Kansas City) did not run for a leadership position this year.
- Minority Agenda Chair: Incumbent Marci Francisco (Lawrence) unopposed.
- Minority Caucus Chair: **Ethan Corson (Prairie Village)** unopposed. Open position after incumbent Jeff Pitman (Leavenworth) lost his reelection to the Senate this fall.

House Republicans

- Speaker: Incumbent Dan Hawkins (Wichita) unopposed.
- Speaker Pro Tem: Incumbent Blake Carpenter (Derby) unopposed.
- Majority Leader: Incumbent Chris Croft (Overland Park) unopposed.
- Assistant Majority Leader: **Kyle Hoffman (Coldwater)** beat Barbara Wasinger (Hays) and Clark Sanders (Salina). Open position after incumbent Les Mason passed away earlier this year.
- Majority Whip: Nick Hoheisel (Wichita) unopposed. Incumbent Susan Estes (Wichita) did not run for a leadership position this year.
- Majority Caucus Chair: Incumbent Kristey Williams (Augusta) unopposed.

House Democrats

- Minority Leader: **Brandon Woodard (Lenexa)** beat Stephanie Sawyer-Clayton (Overland Park). Open position after incumbent Vic Miller (Topeka) lost his reelection to the House this fall.
- Assistant Minority Leader: **Mike Amyx (Lawrence)** beat incumbent Valdenia Winn (Kansas City).
- Minority Whip: Jo Ella Hoye (Lenexa) unopposed. Open position after incumbent Stephanie Sawyer-Clayton decided to run for Minority Leader.
- Minority Caucus Chair: Incumbent Barbara Ballard (Lawrence) unopposed.
- Minority Agenda Chair: Incumbent **Jerry Stogsdill (Prairie Village)** beat Melissa Oropeza (Kansas City).
- Minority Policy Chair: **Dan Osman (Overland Park)** unopposed. Open position after incumbent Christina Haswood (Lawrence) ran for the Senate this fall.